Would You Settle?

Thought Catalog

Recently I had a friend ask me what I wanted out of a relationship, so I told him the truth. All the usual things like friendship, support, loyalty, but also that I would like to be in love with the person. As in, I would like to think of them not as the best available option, but the one — of my deliberate choosing. Obvious, probably. To which:

Him: That seems like a lot to ask.

Me: To be in love with someone?

Him: Yeah. Like if you had to choose between being miserable alone and a little bit happy with someone you’re not in love with, isn’t it better to be just a little bit happy?

Is it?

“A little bit happy.” A little bit happy is that sad absent smile you wear when you’re picking out shirts at a department store, when you buy them some holiday present…

View original post 396 more words

Any Feedback or comments are welcome !

